“First time in Kyrgyzstan?”

Weekly Enkyrgyzments

Its been 4 days since I landed in Bishkek, the capital city of Kyrgyzstan. Located in Central Asia, Kyrgyzstan is a landlocked country bordered by Uzbekistan, Tajikistan, Kazakhstan and China and this is where I will be spending the next couple of months working with the Aga Khan Foundation on a Civic Education curriculum project. kstan_zps28f4d831.jpg

It’s been almost surreal getting here, after a set of interviews in April followed by a frantic need to read as much as I could about the country before I got here. During my transit in Moscow, I was told by a busy airport staff member that flights to Delhi were in the next terminal. She looked very surprised when I thanked her and instead asked her if I was in the right terminal for flights to Kyrgyzstan. “First time in Kyrgyzstan?” she asked to which I nodded vigorously.

My flight landed in Bishkek at about…

View original post 444 more words

Leave a Reply

