University of Central Asia – One University, Three Campuses |Watch the Webcast from Ismaili Centre–London

“By creating intellectual space and resources, the University will bring the power of education and human ingenuity to the economic and social challenges of mountain societies in Central Asia and elsewhere.”His Highness the Aga Khan
Foundation Stone Ceremony for the UCA (Khorog, Tajikistan – 6 July 2004)



WEBCAST: UCA’s Kassim-Lakha’s “Creating Opportunity on the Roof of the World” lecture in London

University of Central Asia – One University, Three Campuses

The University of Central Asia (UCA) was founded in 2000. The Presidents of Tajikistan, the Kyrgyz Republic, and Kazakhstan, and His Highness the Aga Khan signed the International Treaty and Charter establishing this secular and private University; ratified by the respective parliaments, and registered with the United Nations. The Presidents are the Patrons of UCA and His Highness is the Chancellor.

UCA brings with it the commitment and partnership of the broader Aga Khan Development Network, offering an internationally recognised standard of higher education in Central Asia. UCA’s conceptualisation and inception as a regional university is derived from recommendations set forth by the Commission on the Establishment of an International Institution of Higher Education, a panel comprised of distinguished international and regional members who met extensively from 1995 to 1998.

UCA’s mission is to promote the social and economic development of Central Asia, particularly its mountain societies, while at the same time helping the different peoples of the region to preserve and draw upon their rich cultural traditions and heritages as assets for the future. UCA seeks to contribute leadership, ideas, and innovations to the transitioning economies and communities of the region through modern educational and vigorous research programmes that produce knowledgeable, skilled and creative graduates.

UCA consists of the School of Professional and Continuing Education (the first operational division of the University); and the School of Arts and Sciences (undergraduate), and the Graduate School of Development that will be launched when the three campuses are built in Khorog, Naryn, and Tekeli. The University provides three additional initiatives to build teaching and scholarly capacity in the region through its Central Asian Faculty Development Programme, the Aga Khan Humanities Project, and Research Programme.

Education for a New Generation

The Founders of UCA launched an ambitious and complex project responding to the need for new models of higher education institutions that strengthen Central Asian scholarship and attract international, regional, and local resources to enable the people of Central Asia to address their own economic and cultural challenges. UCA graduates will be empowered to contribute skills and leadership, as well as generate income and create jobs to enhance the participation of their communities in a global society. A core mandate of the University is to support Central Asians to enhance their roles as custodians of their environment and cultures to preserve and benefit from them.

The development of an international institution of higher learning – with an innovative curriculum to be taught in English and purpose built residential campuses in remote and mountainous locations – requires exceptional investments in planning, design, and implementation, as well as immense cooperation from all interested parties. Since its inception, UCA has made steady and important progress. With the generous support of His Highness the Aga Khan, the University has invested significant resources in all aspects of development including: securing land, developing a facilities plan, selection of architects and planners, designing campus buildings, conducting site investigations and site preparation works, and developing academic degree programmes. The School of Professional and Continuing Education, the Aga Khan Humanities Project, and the Research Programme are operational and contributing to the expanding learning opportunities in the region. In addition, UCA is proactively building its human resource and financial capacity to ensure that its contribution to social and economic growth in Central Asia can be sustained for generations to come.


UCA is an international endeavour built on partnerships that promote the exchange of information and resources, the creation of opportunities, and the promotion of excellence in higher education within and beyond Central Asia. Our partnerships cross political borders and sectors. Generous financial support from the region’s governments, the international donor community, philanthropists, and His Highness the Aga Khan and have enabled the University to undertake this most unique aim.

The following institutional partners contributed financially or materially to UCA’s programmes. Many more contributed practically and intellectually to its work. All of these contributions are gratefully acknowledged.

  • Aga Khan Development Network
  • Asian Development Bank
  • Asian Institute of Technology
  • British Council
  • Bundesministerium für Wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ)
  • Canadian International Development Agency
  • Carleton University
  • Certified International Professional Accountant Examination Network (CIPA-EN)
  • Cornell University
  • DAMU National Enterprise Development Foundation
  • Department of Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (UK)
  • Deutscher Akademischer Austausch Dienst (DAAD)
  • European Commission
  • Flora and Fauna International
  • Gesellschaft für Technische Zusammenarbeit (GTZ)
  • Government of France
  • Government of Norway
  • Government of Kazakhstan
  • Government of Kyrgyz Republic
  • Government of Tajikistan
  • Indian Council on Cultural Relations
  • International Computer Driving Licence (ICDL)
  • Japan International Cooperation Agency
  • London Chamber of Commerce and Industry (LCCI)
  • Mountain Partnership
  • Michigan State University
  • National University of Singapore
  • National Centre for Competency in Research North-South (NCCR-NS)
  • Nur Foundation
  • Open Society Institute
  • Peace Corps
  • Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation
  • The Christensen Fund
  • The World Bank
  • United Nations Environment Programme
  • United States Agency for International Development (USAID)
  • United States Department of Agriculture
  • United States Department of State
  • University of Alberta
  • University of Bern
  • University of Cambridge
  • University of Exeter
  • University of Manchester
  • University of Ottawa
  • University of Toronto

See more on:



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.