Silk Road Travelogue by Ali Karim: (6) in Hunza’s Capital Karimabad- Named after Prince Karim Aga Khan — Simerg com

I conclude my Silk Road Series for Simergphotos, with this 6th and final piece that covers the last stage of our stay in Hunza. I would say that our experiences in Hunza have left for us deep and lasting impressions about the region and people of Hunza, who are mainly Ismailis. I would urge readers who haven’t read the entire series to click on the following links:

I further invite readers to join me on my Facebook page and to follow my personal blog, where I offer more insights and details about the numerous places that my wife Dilshad and I have travelled. I hope that as you travel, you will also share your expeiences, narratives, photos and videos with others. Opinions do matter, and an occasional feedback on sites such as Tripadvisor will assist thousands who are seeking information about the countries you have visited, including your favourite spots, where you stayed as well as where you shopped and dined!

(…)

With very heavy hearts, we left the wonderful people and hospitality of Passu to make our way to Karimabad, the capital of Hunza district. Just outside Passu village, we saw a spectacular suspension foot-bridge which the people (mainly women) of Passu use to cross the Hunza river to tend to their animals who are on pastures on the other side of the Hunza river. We also stopped at Passu glacier and Borith Lake, which are just to the south of Passu village. The Passu Glacier is in a valley just as you exit the town, and it is quite a sight to see this glacier close up.

(…)

)silk-roads_hunza_alikarim_2_03s

Husseini village on the Hunza river, with their own welcome message for His Highness the Aga Khan on the mountainside across the Hunza river. Photo: Ali Karim. Copyright.

(…)

silk-roads_hunza_alikarim_2_53s

People were very helpful everywhere; and that may have been due to the lack of tourists. Northern Pakistan (Gilgit-Baltistan, Kohistan, etc) has huge tourism potential and is a bonanza for nature lovers who love trekking, hiking, and mountain climbing. If Pakistan can get its act together and become politically stable like its much larger neighbour, India, and achieve higher literacy rates I think it will in time attract a large number of tourists from around the world, and become a genuine destination for travel.

My bucket list of places that I want to visit is simply very deep, and I don’t think I can manage that in one lifetime. But this Silk Roads journey was momentous and I thank all the readers of Simergphotos for staying with me during my rantings. I hope you enjoyed reading it as much as I enjoyed writing it.

Date posted: February 13, 2017.

Read and view many photos on Simerg  com

->>>>><<<<<-

Leave a Reply

