Historical pictures: “The European Union – 60th anniversary” — Photos- The Federal Government, Germany

Chancellor Konrad Adenauer (at left) and State Secretary Walter Hallstein (centre) sign the "Treaties of Rome"; at the right sits Italy's Prime Minister Antonio Segni. (show image)

On 25 March 1957 in Rome Chancellor Konrad Adenauer and State Secretary Walter Hallstein signed the founding documents of what became the European Union. Walter Hallstein later became the first EEC Commission President.-Photo: picture-alliance / dpa

German and Italian workers on the Volkswagen Beetle production line (show image)

The European Social Fund was founded in 1957. It promotes employment in Europe. Between 2007 and 2014 the ESF helped almost 10 million people in Europe find a job, almost 610,000 of them in Germany. -Photo: ullstein bild

Cars at the border crossing point at Venlo beside a 'Customs' sign (show image)

On 1 July 1968 the customs union between Germany, France, Italy and the Benelux states came into effect. It abolished customs duties beween member states. The customs union was an important milestone on the way to a European Single Market. – Photo: picture-alliance/ dpa

The plenary chamber of the European Parliament in 1979 (show image)

Since 1979, the people of Europe have been able to directly elect the members of the European Parliament. One of them was former German Chancellor Willy Brandt. – Photo: Bundesregierung/Reineke

A bus drives across the German-Polish border as the barriers are opened. (show image)

In 1985 Germany, France and the Benelux states signed the “Schengen Agreement”. They agreed to abolish border controls on persons at their internal borders and to step up controls at their external borders. – Photo: picture-alliance/ dpa

Chancellor Helmut Kohl and Commission President Jacques Delors with a map of Europe (show image)

Commission President Jacques Delors and Chancellor Helmut Kohl championed the integration of the former East Germany (GDR) into the European community. The reunited Germany is a member of both the European Community and NATO. – Photo: Bundesregierung/Reineke

Maastricht Treaty with wax seals (show image)

On 7 February 1992 the Treaty on European Union was signed in Maastricht. It put in place regulations for the common currency, foreign and security policy, and closer cooperation in the fields of justice and home affairs.- Photo: Bundesregierung/Reineke

A lorry drives past an EU border sign at the French-German border. (show image)

In January 1993 the European Single Market came into effect. It was based on the four fundamental freedoms: free movement of goods, persons, services and capital.- Photo: Caro / Sorge

Chancellor Gerhard Schröder holding up a euro starter kit (show image)

On 1 January 2002 the euro was introduced as an official currency and legal tender. Today 19 EU member states are part of the euro zone.- Photo: Bundesregierung/Stutterheim

Young people in Prague celebrate the Czech Republic's accession to the European Union. (show image)

The European Union continued to grow after the Iron Curtain fell. Ten countries in Central, Eastern and Southern Europe joined the EU, ending the division of Europe. The European Union now has 28 member states.-Photo: picture-alliance/ dpa/dpaweb

Chancellor Angela Merkel and Commission President José Manuel Barroso with children at the Brandenburg Gate (show image)

25 March 2007: The Berlin Declaration on the 50th anniversary of the founding of the EU reaffirmed Europe’s commitment to shared values – respect for human dignity, tolerance, solidarity and equal opportunities.-Photo: Bundesregierung/Bolesch

The signing of the Lisbon Treaty in the city's Jerónimos Monastery (show image)

The Lisbon Treaty of 13 December 2007 strengthened the rights of the European Parliament in particular. A common European diplomatic service was also established.-Photo: picture-alliance/ dpa

Herman Van Rompuy, President of the European Council, José Manuel Barroso, President of the European Commission, and Martin Schulz, President of the European Parliament, hold up the Nobel Peace Prize and medal. (show image)

On 10 December 2012, the EU was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize. The Committee cited the EU’s contribution to promoting peace and reconciliation, democracy and human rights in Europe as the reason for its decision.-Photo: CORNELIUS POPPE/AFP/Getty Images

Source: The Press and Information Office of the Federal Government



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.